Each year the Armenian Education Center awards a scholarship to the winner of their essay contest. These essay questions help students to generate awareness and build a general understanding of the Armenian Genocide of 1915.

Congratulations to the winner of the 2017 AEC Scholarship!

2017 Winner: Avery Naperala
        Honorable mention: James Caven

Past Winners of the AEC Scholarship

2016 Winner: Benjamin Comire, Bassett H.S., Bassett, VA
        Honorable mention: Kelly McHale, W.T. Woodson H.S., Fairfax, VA
        Honorable mention: Brooks Pollard, Turner Ashby H.S., Bridgewater, VA
2015 Winner: Katherine Katz, Bishop Denis J. O'Connell High School, Arlington, VA
        Honorable mentions: Zach Schauffler, Jamestown High School, James City County, VA

2014 Winner: John Leahy
        Honorable mentions: Meagan Arnold; Hershel Holiday

2013 Winner: Claire Burke
        Honorable mentions: Sonia Blough; Philip Cragg; Audra J VanDerwerker

2012 Winner: Claire Tito
        Honorable mention: Sarah Stites

2011 Winner: Elisabeth Andrews
        Honorable Mention: Charlotte Hopkins

2010 Winner: Hira Palla
        Honorable Mention: Jerod Myers

2009 Winner: David Scurry
        Honorable Mention: Jennifer Morben

2008 Winner: June Song
        Honorable Mention: Christina Beasley

2007 Winner: Matthew Mason